Oklahoma Christian’s Journalists Win Awards

Oklahoma Christian’s Journalists Win Awards

Modified: May 23, 1990 at 12:00 am • Published: May 23, 1990

The Talon, Oklahoma Christian University of Science and Arts’ student newspaper, captured a state-high 20 awards in the Oklahoma Collegiate Press Association’s 1989-90 individual entries contest, the school announced.

Writers from the paper competed with writers from more than 30 other college and university newspapers.

Talon staff members received five first-place awards, 10 second-place awards and five third-place awards. Their entries placed somewhere in the top three in 10 of 12 categories.

“Our success at state was outstanding,” said newspaper adviser Lora Postelwait. “The awards are recognition for the excellent writing and photography our staff has published this year.”

The Talon also won two awards in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s national journalism competition. Categories were news-feature writing and single-subject presentation of three pages or more.

Talon staff members winning awards were sports-design editor Todd Johnson, entertainment editor Kelly Brady, news editor Steven Lackmeyer, editor-in-chief Bobby Ross Jr., photography editor James VanMeter, assistant sports editor Dennis Qualls.

Also, former sports editor Tamie Dillard, opinions editor Mark Harvill, cartoonist David Bates, advertising manager Jamie Watson, news editor Lisa Beckloff, sports writer Randy Roper, opinions intern Monica Bills and entertainment intern Allison Crown. BIOG: NAME:

%d bloggers like this: